Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Seminars Archive 2017

January

Dr. Sean Myles
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Genomic insights into cannabis, wine and cider

February

Dr. John Frampton
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Gels, droplets and fibers: designing advanced materials for biotechnology

Dr. Jennifer Corcoran
Wednesday, February 01, 2017
Viral control of autophagy reprograms processing body dynamics

March

Honours Student - Day 2
Friday, March 31, 2017
Honours Student Research Presentations Day 2, 2017

Honours Student - Day 1
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Honours Student Research Presentations Day 1, 2017

Dr. Feng Zhang
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Recipient of the Canada Gairdner Award and DMRF Picchione Visiting Scholar

Dr. Scot J. Stone
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Acyltransferases and lipid storage

Lisbeth Witthoefft Nielsen
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Natural or Unnatural? Values in public discourse on GMO's

Graduate Student Symposium
Wednesday, March 08, 2017
Biochemistry 5910

Dr. Grant M. Hatch
Wednesday, March 01, 2017
Cardiolipin metabolism in diet-induced obesity

April

Dr. Natalie K. Goto
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Interplay Between Dynamics, Gating and Catalysis in the Membrane Revealed in the GlpG Rhomboid Protease.

May

Dr. Brian Rodrigues
Wednesday, May 31, 2017
Endothelial cell-cardiomyocyte crosstalk in diabetic cardiomyopathy

Shannon Sibbald & Carine Nzirorera, M.Sc. Candidates
Wednesday, May 24, 2017
Shannon Sibbald

Genomic footprints in the cryptomonad Goniomonas ó evidence for photosynthetic ancestry

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Carine Nzirorera

The role of autotaxin and lysophosphatidic acid in obesity induced cardiac insulin resistance

Donika Shala & Logan Slade, M.Sc. Candidates
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Donika Shala

Assessing the effects of lighting regimes on the productivity of a microalgae reactor

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Logan Slade

TFEB helps breast cancer cells overcome Doxorubicin chemotherapy

Dr. Alyson Santoro
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Microbial adaptation to the open ocean: Insights from the Thaumarchaeota

Kenneth DíSouza, Ph.D Candidate
Wednesday, May 03, 2017
Regulation of Autotaxin and its Role in Obesity-Induced Skeletal Muscle Insulin Resistance

June

Jonghwa (Kyle) Lee, Ph.D. Candidate
Wednesday, June 21, 2017
The role of phosphatidylcholine in lipid droplet biogenesis and lipoprotein secretion

Antonietta Pietrangelo, Ph.D. Candidate
Wednesday, June 14, 2017
Bridging the gap: OSBP-related protein 4 (ORP4), membrane contact sites and lipid transfer

July

Dr. Elliot Sober
Thursday, July 27, 2017
Darwin's Phylogenetic Reasoning

Katherine Strynatka, Ph.D. Candidate
Wednesday, July 26, 2017
Using yeast as a tool for drug discovery

M.Sc. Thesis Defence - Donika Shala
Thursday, July 20, 2017
Effects of Different Light Treatments on a Microbial Mat Photobioreactor

Dr. Maureen O'Malley
Thursday, July 20, 2017
Microbes and mind control: the gut-brain connection in light of microbiome research

Sergio Munoz, Ph.D. Candidate
Wednesday, July 19, 2017
The phylogenetic and phenotypic nature of the mitochondrial ancestor

M.Sc. Thesis Defence - Carine Nzirorera,
Tuesday, July 18, 2017
The Role of Lysophosphatidic Acid and Autotaxin in Obesity Induced Cardiac Insulin Resistance

Dr. Conor Meehan
Thursday, July 13, 2017
Phylodynamics of Pathogenic Mycobacteria

Qinyan (Andy) Song
Wednesday, July 05, 2017
Structural characterization of the interaction between p53 and plakoglobin

August

M.Sc. Thesis Defence - Shannon Sibbald
Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Symbiosis and its Impact on Eukaryote Evolution

Dr. Hans J. Vogel
Wednesday, August 09, 2017
Antimicrobial peptides, biosynthesis, new targets and novel evasion mechanisms

PhD Thesis Defence, Kyungsoo Shin
Wednesday, August 09, 2017
Expanded insight into processing and isoform-dependent properties of apelin.

M.Sc. Thesis Defence - Carine Nzirorera
Friday, August 04, 2017
The Role of Lysophosphatidic Acid and Autotaxin in Obesity Induced Cardiac Insulin Resistance

September

Dr. Martin Schmeing
Wednesday, September 27, 2017
Structures and functions of nonribosomal peptide synthetases, macromolecular antibiotic factories

Dr. Daniel de Carvalho
Wednesday, September 20, 2017
Translational aspects of DNA methylation in cancer: therapeutic target and circulating biomarker

October

Dr. Sebastian Kadener
Wednesday, October 04, 2017
Molecular and Physiological functions of circRNAs